I made a Debian VM

My other couple Linux VMs are Ubuntu with different interfaces (Adalace is Lubuntu, Eric is Xubuntu, and there’s the tester Lubuntu I made for a recent post on here). I wanted to see how another distro handled, so I spent some time on Sunday making a Debian VM. Its name is Linus, for quite obvious reasons–I didn’t have one named after him yet.

It is so shiny 😀 I’ve seen and messed around with the weird Unity interface that straight-up Ubuntu comes with and which nobody seems to like very much; I agree with the masses, it’s kind of odd. And while Xfce and LXDE both work really well in the limited-hardware environment of a VM, they’re both kinda bare-bones in a way that I like for its functionality, but not terribly its comfort in use. But I do like the Debian interface quite a bit. It’s odd not being able to minimize things, but it makes up for it with the window-switching panel.

Apart from that, Debian’s got a solid following code-wise. I don’t speak C yet (although it’s only a matter of time). I know people complain about Ubuntu’s code, but I haven’t gotten far enough down into the OS to see what they’re talking about and whether the complaints are justified.

It’ll be a while before my MacBook goes out, even though it’s an older model. It’s a solid piece of hardware, it’s easy to take apart, it’s got an aluminum case, and while 4GB is the most RAM it can take, the OS doesn’t really need anything more and the dual-core system can support my VMs. But when something does happen to it, I plan to replace it by buying a Windows laptop, which will stay a Windows laptop for only about five minutes (that is, until I unpackage it and pop in the Linux install CD, or make it into a hackintosh; most likely the former). If I can learn to hack on Debian, it might be a very strong candidate for the OS I install there.

Not to say I’m not happy with OS X for general-use purposes. It’s a solid OS: stable, efficient with the hardware, and comfortable to use. Not my favorite to program on, but you can.

I’ve already set it so sudo doesn’t even prompt me for my password. I live on the edge like that, because I totally can’t just wipe the thing if it turns into Frankenstein’s Monster on me. (In other words, putting in the standard warning: don’t recklessly do this to a machine you actually have files on.)

Updates when I actually figure out what I’m doing.

Leave a Reply

