A few more projects

I’ve started teaching Python to my 12yo. brother Ben. He picks it up really quickly and asks the right questions; his problem is that he doesn’t make the mistakes that the Python book keeps trying to get him to make, the ones he’s supposed to learn from. He’s already meticulous, so if I don’t intervene and point out all the ways you can screw up a program, he won’t have the experience of knowing what it looks like when you do make stupid mistakes. Because everyone makes stupid mistakes in programming. It’s just a thing that’s going to happen, no matter what.

So far, the design patterns book I’ve been reading has covered the Strategy pattern, the Observer pattern, and the Decorator pattern. I like Strategy and Observer, but I don’t like Decorator. I keep getting this feeling like… I would do it differently, use more of a Strategy-shaped design. The book keeps talking about a “Factory” pattern; maybe that’s what I’m thinking of but can’t pin down. I just don’t like Decorator on its own. It seems kind of unnecessarily complex… obtuse… clunky. Maybe I’ll like it when combined with Factory, or maybe I don’t understand it well enough to get why you’d want to do things that way.

Meanwhile, the book is teaching me more about OO principles than any programming book I’ve ever seen. Between Head First Design Patterns and Google, I’m seeing a lot more of what you can do with objects via example than is ever really explained in other contexts. School teaches you to type

public static void main (String[] args) {  }

(or equivalent for non-Java languages) but never actually shows you a program where you use publicly-accessible methods from another class; I’m still not really sure what static does. They teach you what classes and objects are–sort of–but don’t teach you how they can really be used. They don’t teach you what an interface is, or how libraries actually work. They teach you syntax and how to solve toy problems. I have a feeling I’m going to end up teaching some other new programming grad I’ll have to work with about everything the classes missed. In fact, if I can find the patience to type these things up, maybe I should post them here.

I can see my own progress by the fact that the source code for Tetravex, which I downloaded on my Debian VM, is now magically understandable. Not sure how that happened, but there are a few bugs I want to send in a patch for–if they haven’t already been fixed. If I do that, it’ll be my first contribution to open-source. 🙂

Leave a Reply

