What confuses you about seasoned programmers?

This one’s for the (comparatively) more normal people.

Is there some custom/habit/trait of programmers that you’d like explained? Let me know in the comments!

I’ll also take general post requests as per the common-sense guidelines I set up a week ago. Basically–you can ask for how-tos, you can ask to discuss something (even if it’s controversial) but it can’t be one-sided, be civil and PG-13 in the comments, and I reserve the right not to take your post request if I decide there’s a reason.

A dozen people stumble across this site every hour. Some of you probably have opinions on what you want to read! You don’t need any kind of account to post comments on this site, so go straight ahead. I like to hear from you guys. 🙂

2 thoughts on “What confuses you about seasoned programmers?

  1. I really like your way of expressing things. I got redirected here from CatB and started to read all the posts from Day one. You have a great writing style,moreover I would like to know what are your views on competitive programming? Are you planning to do CP in the coming years?

    Like

    • Thanks! I’m glad you find LGL useful.

      Competitive programming is great for the people who like it. Personally, I’m far more self-competitive than other-people-competitive. That sounds like a kinda hippie answer until you find out how ruthless I am against past me. 🙂

      I think hackathons are a cool idea because you get a whole bunch of coders in one room and you can in theory work with anyone there, but I’m not interested in the measuring up of what everyone’s created at the end. I don’t dislike the idea, it’s just not very interesting to me.

      I think if you CAN build something in 24 hours or whatever, that’s awesome and I want to see what it is. The people who make the coolest things will be cool whether they officially win a competition or not.

      Though I like the idea of having small prizes for the three projects voted the coolest or whatever. High stakes stuff just puts too much stress on the whole thing. If you’ve got $100 on the line, people will be thinking about that over their project and the projects won’t get as much love. But if you’re giving out $10 Dunkin Donuts cards to everyone who worked on the favorite new app, that’s cool.

      Protip: If you’re broke and there’s a free hackathon you can make, go. From what I hear they usually have loads of free junk food and pizza and sandwiches and stuff. (The one I went to did–holy cow it was like Halloween up in there–but that was part of a well-funded tech conference so, you know.) You can take off with leftover Red Bull at the end too.

      Like

Leave a Reply

