I think I’ve got JSON down, at least partway

I understand it better now and I have my file structure mapped out. (I’m glad my gut told me to write down the plans. I had two or three outlines in my head, and only one still looked good when I could see it on paper. You don’t always have to do planning like this, but trust your brain if it says something’s off.)

I haven’t programmed things in yet, but I’m not lost any more either. It shouldn’t be too much work to hack this thing together. Getting it to actually work may be another story. (Or not. Hard to say.)

After storage, I need to get the camera working (if I can using just my laptop), and if the planets align and I miraculously have time before my artificial little time-to-start-releasing date (the 24th), I’ll also try to put in a crude backup system. And if the planets align and I get the blessing of the Pope or whatever, I might even get to put the colors back. :3

I’m not sure how long it takes to release an app onto Google Play. My guess is: way shorter than it is on iPhone. I’m really glad I have an Android phone. (The Galaxy S3 is still a really good phone. It has served me well for like a year and a half. It’s like my MacBook: slightly older, but still attractive, well-designed, and useful.)

Speaking of my MacBook, I got it a hard case: this one. It’s kind of like the one on my phone, but not as flexible. I like it so far! It’s not too bulky, it’s a pretty color, it’s nice to the touch, and it covers the missing foot pads on the bottom. The silicone keypad cover is not much of an adjustment, typing-wise, but will keep the keys shielded from spills and cat hair. Lots of win for $12 (probably a little more in shipping if you don’t have Prime). Note: if you get the red, one of the reviews says the Apple logo glows pink. If you don’t like pink, avoid that color. I wholeheartedly recommend the royal blue, though.

I have to go to work tomorrow. I’m debating what to do before going to bed. See, I kinda want to make progress on tinypapers and program that method in… but if I do, it’ll probably keep me awake thinking about it when I go to bed. I could curl up and mindlessly reread Ender’s Game or Eragon*, but then I’d be thinking about the fact that I’m not making progress on tinypapers. I could actually go to bed now at a reasonable time, but I tried that on Saturday and it messed my sleep schedule up. So… it looks like I’ll be thinking about tinypapers no matter what.

Screw it. I’m going back to hacking.

 

*It’s totally Star Wars with dragons. Some people think this counts against it.

It gets increasingly dull after the first book, though… I never made it all the way through the third but have read the first like seven times.

Leave a Reply

