Friday’s STEM event is over

There’s another round tomorrow, twice as big. I’m not sure how well we’re going to handle that. This group was big enough!

They were mostly 7th graders. There were three HS freshmen in the group, I’m told. They all looked really young and the main group was huge–ostensibly 35 kids, but it seemed like more. After Hour of Code, they were divided into two groups between the virtual reality room and my Linux room and spent half an hour in each. Both rounds, the group I got filled nearly every working computer in the room.

And they… liked my game?

When I learned I was getting a younger group than I thought I was getting, I started wondering how a really nerdy text-based adventure was going to go over. But they either liked it enough or wanted to impress me enough that things went really smoothly. I’m not questioning it.

I’m exhausted. I’ll update with more details later.

2 thoughts on “Friday’s STEM event is over

  1. Just to let you know. I was following this blog and the last post(this post as of now) has left me in suspense. I was looking forward to the Saturday “Hour of Code” event post. I hope you would update about it soon. Thanks for writing about all your experiences as a ‘larval’. Totally Inspiring.

    Like

Leave a Reply

