Minor content audit

Hello, old friends!

I was surprised to log back in and discover that this site still gets readers now and then. Wild! I haven’t even been here in… four years? Whoof.

Well, I’ll admit it: I’m part of the statistic about girls dropping out of the tech field. I still use Linux as my main OS, and I do still want to learn Clojure someday, but I’m no longer hoping to go into tech as a career. I’m honestly very burned out on programming.

I’m back to writing novels and bits of nonfiction, and I’m signed up for a copyediting program this spring. Writing is one of the few things I can confidently say I’m good at–with real confidence, not my old teenage BS confidence (which, if you’ve been through the archives, you’re probably very familiar with).

Speaking of which, I’m about to clean a few things up around here. The stuff you love isn’t going away, but a few old tutorials need disclaimers added about their age and other notes about things I’ve learned since I first wrote them. Some posts that are no longer useful, like the ones where I pointed toward Humble Bundle book deals that are now years expired, will be archived. Others, I’ll probably be reining in my teenage self’s more… uh, annoying writing habits. (We’ll just call it that.)

The tutorial posts you love won’t be going away. They could use some touch-ups, though, so I’m going to spend a few hours today giving them some love.

As always, happy hacking!

Rebekah

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.